Why I am in the race for Ward 2 City Councilor

Dear Ward 2:

My name is Maxwell Tracy and I am running for City Council in Ward 2 as a Progressive. I believe the City Council can play a constructive role in creating policies that directly address economic and social hardships facing the Old North End. If elected, I will strive to make Burlington a city that is truly livable for all its residents.

Two years ago, I narrowly lost a race for City Council.  While I was disappointed in the outcome, the experience only strengthened my commitment to our ward and Burlington.  It was a pleasure getting to meet my neighbors and listen to what you believe our city government’s priorities should be.  As a Department of Public Works commissioner, I have seen first hand that our neighborhood is overlooked too often.  However, by coming together, our voices will be heard. As your next City Councilor, I will work hard to ensure City Hall is doing its part to make the Old North End the most vibrant, livable, and engaging places to live in the city.

I am proud to be part of a new generation of young Progressives who are bringing a new energy to our Party.  Ward 2 has a long history of entrusting Progressive leadership and I look forward to continuing the work of past councilors Terry Bouricius, Gene Bergman, Donna Bailey, Cheryl McDonough, Jane Knodell, and Emma Mulvaney-Stanak.

Listening to my Ward 2 neighbors, people have told me that they care about:

-Local jobs that pay livable wages;

-Reasonably priced, quality rental units;

-UVM’s impact on our neighborhood;

-Local food from farmers and community gardeners;

-Efficiency, civility, and accountability on the Council and in city government;

-Great neighborhood schools for all children regardless of their family’s income; and

-A councilor who listens to your needs and pro-actively works to improve the Old North End.

Over the next six weeks I look forward to hearing your vision for our neighborhood.  I will be knocking on doors, making phone calls, organizing house parties, and meeting people in our local cafés.  Please contact me to discuss the issues that matter to you or to learn how you can be a part of this grassroots campaign.  Simply send me a message via the “contact” section of this website.

In solidarity,

Max Tracy

Leave a Reply

